

Joint Meeting

MLK Commission and Emancipation Proclamation and Freedom Monument Subcommittee

Senate Room B
General Assembly Building
Richmond, Virginia

Monday, June 16, 2014 2:00 P.M.

AGENDA

(All legislative and nonlegislative citizen members of the Commission and the Subcommittee have the same right to voice their opinions on this important matter)

- 1. Call to order—Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, Subcommittee Chairman
- 2. Introductions and Comments—Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, Subcommittee Chairman
- 3. Presentation: Slavery, Emancipation, and Freedom in Virginia
 - Dr. Jack Trammell, Assistant Professor and Director of Disability Support Services and Director of the Honors Program, Randolph-Macon College
- 4. Reconsideration of the Vote on May 21, 2014
- 5. Review, Discussion, and Decision on Proposed Models
 - Baskervill (Burt Pinnock)
 - Daub & Firmin Studios (Eugene Daub and Dr. Rob Firmin)
 - Charles Fagan and MJ Synergy Group, LLC (Carlos Davis and Charles Fagan)
- 6. Review, Discussion, and Decisions
 - Timing of Notification of Finalist
 - Timing of Joint Commission and Richmond City Press Release
 - Articles of Incorporation for 501(c)(3) corporation; Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
 - Fundraising Campaign
 - Public Relations Campaign
 - Planning for Upcoming Emancipation Proclamation Events
 - Next Steps Concerning the Monument (State and City)
 - 2014 Interim Work Plan
- 7. Directions to Staff
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Next Meeting Date
- 10. Adjournment

MLK COMMISSION MEMBERS

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman
Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, Vice Chairwoman
Delegate C. Matt Fariss
Senator Mamie E. Locke
Delegate Delores McQuinn
Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr.

Senator William M. Stanley, Jr. Delegate Roslyn C. Tyler Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr. Delegate Joseph R. Yost Reverend Ricardo L. Brown Dr. Ronald L. Carey

The Honorable William C. Cleveland LTC (R) Wesley H. Motley, Jr. SAI Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire Dr. Robert C. Vaughan Mr. Charles Withers Mrs. Juanita Owens Wyatt

Emancipation Proclamation and Freedom Monument Subcommittee

Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, Subcommittee Chairman Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, Commission Vice Chairwoman

Ms. Betsy S. Barton

The Honorable Viola Baskerville

Ms. Lynne M. Bland

Ms. Valerie Braxton-Williams

Dr. Ronald L. Carey

The Honorable Jean W. Cunningham

Mr. Patrick Farris Dr. Lauranett Lee

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke Kirk T. Schroder, J.D., Ph.D. Dr. Phillip Stone, Esq. Shawn O. Utsey, Ph.D. Mr. Charles Withers

The Honorable Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

Ex Officio Member

The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, Commission Chairman

Advisors

Dr. Ed Ayers, President, University of Richmond

Ms. April Kees, Legislative Analyst, Senate Finance Committee

Mr. Joseph F. Damico, Deputy Director, Department of General Services

Mr. Douglas Dunlap, Deputy Director for the Department of Planning and Development Review, City of Richmond

Mr. Edward Gully, Director, Division of Engineering and Buildings

Mr. Don Mark, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Richmond Mayor

Mr. Richard F. Sliwoski, Director, Department of General Services

STAFF

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate
Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant
Mrs. Caryl S. Harris, Fiscal Officer
Division of Legislative Services
201 North Ninth Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 786-3591, ext. 232
bedwards@dls.virginia.gov

Mr. D. Hobie Lehman, Assistant Coordinator of Committee Operations and Sergeant-at-Arms of the Senate Senate of Virginia
P. O. Box 396
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 698-7450
hlehman@senate.virginia.gov